Federal Rule of Bankruptcy Procedure 1007(b)(7) permits an approved debtor education provider to notify the court directly that the debtor has completed a postpetition instructional course concerning personal financial management. Approved course providers for the District of Hawaii may file the Certificate of Financial Management Course using the electronic financial management course certificate filing program (eFinCert) below. This rule pertains to debtor education certificates only, not to credit counseling certificates.
Note: Approved providers of personal financial management instructional courses (debtor education) using eFinCert will need a PACER login to file certificates in the District of Hawaii.
Pursuant to FRBP 1007(c), the debtor must file a statement that he/she completed the personal financial management course within 60 days after the first date set for the meeting of creditors under §341 of the Code in a chapter 7 case, and in a chapter 11 or 13 case no later than the date when the last payment was made by the debtor as required by the plan or the filing of a motion for discharge under § 1141(d)(5)(B) or § 1328(b) of the Code. Failure by the provider to timely file the certificate in accordance with FRBP 1007(c), may result in the debtor's case being closed without a discharge. See FRBP 4004(c)(1)(H).
Penalty for filing fraudulent certification: Fine of up to $500,000 or imprisonment for up to 5 years, or both. 18 U.S.C. §§ 152 and 3571.